Open-faced Quinoa burger with Vegetarian Chili

After 7 weeks of my ‘required’ vegetarianism, I couldn’t wait to sink my teeth into my first steak, eat fresh sushi, and reunite with my In n Out burgers.  However, I didn’t go back to my pre-vegetarian diet ways.  It could’ve been because I got used to a lifestyle sans meat, or because my sister gave up meat for Lent, and eating a steak in front of her for dinner just seemed wrong.  In any case, I was getting bored of watching her eat the same salad over and over again, and decided to make vegetarian chili.  It was my comfort food while I was a vegetarian and it left me full and satisfied.  While at the store I thought about what I could serve with it, and I remembered these Quinoa burgers that my friend made and raved about.  Vegetarian Chili and Quinoa burgers it was!  I got the quinoa burger recipe from Linda at Eat Well Living Thin(er).  Delicious!

Vegetarian Chili

  • 1 – 16oz can black beans
  • 2 large onions chopped
  • 2 TBS minced garlic
  • 1 large bell pepper chopped
  • 2 – 3 serrano chilies, stemmed, seeded, and minced.
  • 1 large eggplant chopped
  • 1 -16oz can of corn
  • 2 lbs assorted mushrooms (i used button and portabello)
  • 2 TBS chili powder
  • 1 TBS ground cumin
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 TBS cayenne
  • 4 large tomatoes, seeded and chopped
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can red kidney beans
  • 1 – 15oz can tomato sauce
  • 1 cup vegetable stock
  • cilantro, chopped (optional)
  • sour cream (optional)
  • shredded cheddar cheese (optional)
  1. In a large, heavy pot or Dutch oven, heat the oil over medium-high heat.
  2. Add the onions, garlic, bell peppers and serrano peppers, and cook, stirring, until soft.  About 3 minutes.
  3. Add the eggplant, corn, and mushrooms, and cook, stirring, until the vegetables give off their liquid and start to brown around the edges.  About 5 – 7 minutes
  4. Add the chili powder, cumin, salt and cayenne, and cook, stirring, until fragrant.
  5. Stir in the tomatoes.
  6. Add the black beans, kidney beans, tomato sauce and vegetable stock, stir well, and bring to a boil.
  7. Reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer, stirring occasionally, for about 20 minutes.
  8. Remove from the heat, and stir in the cilantro. Adjust the seasoning, to taste.

To assemble my hearty dinner, I first placed the quinoa patty down on a plate or shallow bowl.  Then dropped heaping spoonfuls of chili over the quinoa patty, and added a dollop of sour cream.  I forgot to add my cheddar cheese, but so mouthwateringly delicious!

Thanks for dropping by!

Front: Vegetarian Chili; Back: Quinoa burger patty

