Tags

, ,

Someone recommended this place prior to arriving in Chicago.  While in Chicago my friend texted me while she was on her way to class “go eat at Purple Pig for lunch and then have some Garrett’s popcorn”.  Two recommendations for the place? I’m in!

The place has a communal style setting.  Large tables where you can find several separate groups sitting together.  Groups sharing several small plates.  My favorite, I like to try a little bit of everything! 4 people,  7 plates, and only $80 bucks later we were good to go.  Not stuffed, but that good 80% full that you should really be at. :9

Personally, one of my all time favorite restaurants.  Definitely my favorite in Chicago and highly recommend it.

The Purple Pig

Salt-Roasted Beets with Whipped Goat Cheese and Pistachio Vinaigrette; Corn Tomato Pesto Salad

The beets were tender, and the corn tomato salad was like ‘summer in your mouth’ as are fantastic waitress put it.

Pig's Ear with Crispy Kale, Pickled Cherry Peppers & Fried Egg

So crispy, perfect blend of pig’s ear, kale, and peppers.  We broke the yolk over the crispy counterparts, and I enjoyed every morsel of it.

Roasted Bone Marrow with Herbs

Bone marrow spread on some crusty bread, fresh herbs, and the distinct taste of capers.  I loved it! Had to try hard to contain myself and not look like a starving person in front of all the civilized people.

Milk-Braised Pork Shoulder with Mashed Potatoes

So tender, so creamy.

Octopus with Green Beans, Fingerling Potaoes & Salsa Verde

I love octopus, I love green beans, I love Fingerling Potatoes and salsa verde.  This plate was so refreshing and the octopus wasn’t too chewy.  Just, well… perfect.

Turkey Leg with Endives and Lentils

If we weren’t full already (and we weren’t really full) this topped us off.  The perfectly tender and juicy turkey leg paired with the crisp lentils and endives were a fantastic combination.

The service from our waitress was phenomenal.  She actually recommended all those dishes to us, and was quick with service but not over bearing.  The ambiance is casual but you can tell thought was put into putting the restaurant together.  Everyone is friendly, but I think friendliness comes as a requirement to live in Chicago.

I hope I didn’t over-hype this place.  Regardless, it’s definitely worth a stop-by while you’re in Chicago.

Happy Eating!

