Beet-Carrot Brown Rice & Grilled Salmon and Squash

Today was a productive day! However, it started off slow.

I woke up a little early today, and the weather was sunny and cool, perfect time for a run, but laziness was overcoming me and I preferred to sit indoors.  I needed a little kick in the butt and reminded myself that I registered for the San Jose 1/2 Marathon in Sept and needed to get training.  This is the first 1/2 I’ll be doing since my ACL surgery back in Sept 2010.  The past week or two I’ve been running 2 – 3 miles, but often making the excuse that my knee just wasn’t ready.  Today I told myself, what I tell several people, “Mind Over Matter”.  I started the run off with caution, but soon my legs got back their rhythm and in no time I finished off 4 miles!  Mind over Matter.

It’s also Sunday, so it’s the weekly volleyball get together, of course I almost made an excuse to not play, but I sucked it up and played a couple hours of volleyball.  I’m not as impactful to the game as I would like to be, but I think with more practice, I’ll get to where I want to be.

Between games and during rest periods I also did some pearl knotting for my friend’s wedding coming up.  Very productive day!

After all that it was time for dinner swap!  I was excited to cook today, because I had beets and carrots and gypsy bell peppers from my FFTY shipment and found this recipe while browsing foodgawker from Delements.  I tweaked the recipe for Blue Cheese Beets and Carrots rice, as I did not have blue cheese, but plan to try it again next time.  A great healthy meal to complement my productively healthy day.

So, beet-carrot brown rice went on to the night’s menu, then I thought it’d be a nice addition to grill some salmon, and well there was assorted squash from my shipment of FFTY, so that went on the menu as well.

I love the colors of beets and carrots together! [R] Grilled salmon, hot off the grill!”]Beet & Carrot Brown Rice [serves 6]

  • 2 cups brown rice (dry)
  • 4 beets
  • 5 baby carrots
  • 1 bell pepper
  • 1 shallot
  • 1 stalk green onions
  • parsley (garnish)
  1. Cook brown rice according to package instructions
  2. Chop beets, carrots, bell pepper, shallots, and green onions
  3. When rice is done cooking, put beets, carrots, in a heated pan and cook for about 5 minutes to soften, then add bell peppers, and shallots.
  4. Add cooked brown rice to the mix in the pan.  Mix together and heat together for about 3 minutes.  Add green onions to the mix.
  5. Plate and garnish with some parsley.
I love how the beets dye everything a beautiful, vibrant magenta color.
 
Grilled Salmon [approx 4-6 servings]
  • 2.5-3lbs salmon fillet (skin on)
  • olive oil, to coat
  • 1/2 tbsp Salt or to taste
  • 2 Tbsp, Black Pepper, or to taste
  • 2 Tbsp Ground Ginger
  • 2 Tbsp Dark Brown Sugar
  • 1 shallot, sliced
  1. In a baking dish, drizzle olive oil and coat Salmon.  Flip it so it is skin side down
  2. Sprinkle salt all over the salmon, then proceed with black pepper, ground ginger, and dark brown sugar.
  3. Place shallots all over the top of the same.
  4. Place it on the grill, skin side down and leave it there, untouched, for about 15 minutes.  Look for it being cooked about 3/4 of the way, by checking the pinkness on the sides of the salmon, depending on the thickness of you salmon, the timing may be more or less.
  5. Flip the salmon over for the remaining 5 minutes.
  6. Plate it skin side down.
Grilled Squash [serves 4-6]
  • 3 long yellow squash, cut into rounds
  1. Toss lightly with olive oil
  2. Place on grill, and grill for about 5 minutes on each side.
Hope you all enjoy this meal as much as I did! :9
