Tags

,

What do you do after a day’s work with little time to think about what you’re having for dinner? and Hunger vs Sleep are  battling away?

Bon Appetit!

I left work a little before 5:30pm, I’d been up for 11 hours and was craving a nap so bad, that I thought about just taking a quick nap in the garage before heading home from work.  Then I remembered that it only took 10 minutes to drive home, so I was better off putting the nap on hold.

When I got home, I was hungry, and if you know me, you know that hunger waits for no one and nothing, not even a nap.  I rifled through my fridge and saw the rapini (broccoli rabe) that I got from Farm Fresh To You.  I thought that I better used it, but I’ve never used this before.  So I did a quick search on Foodgawker to check out some common dishes, pasta.  Easy!  I opened my fridge again and pulled out that pre-made Ragu spaghetti sauce.  Easy fix when you’re starving!  I flung my pantry doors open and pulled out the remainder of my spaghetti noodles.  Perfect amount for dinner for 2!

As I finished cooking the meal bf walks in and says, “M made jambalaya and he really wants us to go try it.”  I looked at him in disblief as I was about to spoon the spaghetti in my mouth, and cranky words were going to fly. [never divert a hungry girl from her goal of eating.]  But then I stopped and thought about homemade jambalaya and convinced myself that I should definitely try the jambalaya.  Of course we went to our friend’s house, after I ate a couple forkfuls of spaghetti first.

Easy Peasy Spaghetti Rapini [serves 2]

  • half a bunch of Rapini, washed
  • 2 servings of spaghetti noodles
  • 1 cup pasta sauce, or more if desired
  1. Bring a pot of water to boil, and toss in the rapini for about 2 minutes.  Remove the rapini from the hot water.
  2. Boil noodles, according to package, in the same hot water you boiled the rapini, remove and rinse.
  3. Heat spaghetti sauce in a pot, toss rapini and noodles back in with it.  Heat to desired warmness.

Plate and garnish with some cilantro and parmesan, as desired.

The next time Hunger vs Sleep matches up … turn to the hearty dinner in 15 minutes!

Spaghetti Rapini

