Tags

, ,

and… we’re back!!

I went to a BBQ this weekend and feasted on some delicious food, but couldn’t stay long to continue the enjoyment.  However, the homemade chili left me craving more!  After a failed attempt at boot camp Sunday morning (instructor’s fault), I headed straight to Trader Joe’s to look for some peonies… instead I walked out with some ground turkey, chicken Sicilian sausages, and onions.  Lucky for me, I had an order from Farm Fresh To You on Friday that supplied me with my Gypsy peppers and cilantro.

Chili was on my mind, and it was going to happen!

I adapted my recipe a bit from one I found on Whole Foods Market website.

deliciousness.. Turkey & Chicken Sicilian Sausage Chili

Turkey & Chicken Sicilian Sausage Chili [serves 6-8]

  • 2 TBSP olive oil, divided
  • 1lb ground turkey
  • 1lb sausage, skin removed (I used Chicken Sicilian Sausages: with fresh tomatoes and romano cheese, found at Trader Joe’s)
  • 3 small bell peppers, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped,
  • 10 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 TBSP cumin
  • 1TBSP chili powder
  • 1 TSP roasted ground coriander
  • 1 TSP dried basil
  • 1TSP dried parsley
  • 1TSP paprika
  • 1TSP cayenne
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes + juice
  • 2 cups chicken broth (will depend on how thick you like it)
  • 3 cans kidney beans
  • cilantro for garnish
  1. Heat 1 TBSP olive oil in dutch oven over medium-high heat.
  2. Add the turkey and the sausage, break it up and brown.  Remove from pot and set aside.

    browned turkey & chicken Sicilian sausages

  3. Add remaining TBSP olive oil, onions, bell peppers, and garlic.  Cook until softened and golden brown.

    browning onions, garlic, and bell peppers

  4. Return turkey and sausage to pot and add cumin, chili powder, coriander, basil, parsley, paprika and cayenne.  Mix well.

    ground meat, veggies and spices

  5. Add bay leaf, diced tomatoes and their juice, and add about 2 cups chicken broth (adjust to your desired consistency).  Simmer, uncovered, for about 45-50 mins.

    simmering away

  6. Gently stir in kidney beans, and simmer for an additional 30 mins.

Heap a ladle-full, or more, into your bowl and garnish with cilantro.  You can top it off with some cheese and sour cream if you like, I opted out of it this time. ENJOY!

