I’m a recipe follower.

There’s little that I’ve cooked on my own without tediously following measurements and setting the timer to tell me when to stop frying or when to start flipping.

stocked fridge

Today was a different story.  I had a fridge full of ingredients, but no idea what to make for dinner.  So I rummaged, and knew that I was definitely going to cook that block of tofu I had in my fridge, but what else.  I dug a little further and pulled out the magic green tub of ssamjang.  I’ve only used ssamjang one other time for a recipe, but it looked like something that would go with tofu.  I didn’t even bother looking for recipes, and just trusted my gut.  My gut was definitely pleased with the outcome, and I hope your gut is, too!

Ssamjang Tofu Stir Fry

Ssamjang Tofu Stir Fry [serves 6]

  • 3 cups broccoli, chopped
  • 2 cups shitake mushrooms, washed and chopped
  • 1 – 14oz block of tofu, cut up into 1 inch pieces
  • 2 Chinese sausages, cut in about 1/2 inch pieces on the diagonal
  • 1 tablespoon garlic
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons ssamjang (fermented bean paste)
  • 2 tablespoons sesame oil
  • 1/4 cup green onions, sliced on the diagonal
  1. Heat pan on medium high and drizzle 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  2. Cook broccoli and shitake mushrooms in the heated pan, until the broccoli is just tender, about 7-10 minutes.  Reserve on plate.
  3. Add the remaining tablespoon of sesame oil to the pan, tofu, and Chinese sausages.
  4. Let the tofu sear a little bit on the sides, stir it around a little bit to get all sides.  We’re not really looking to brown the sides.
  5. Add the water and ssamjang, stir it around to mix it in with the tofu.
  6. When the ssamjang and water have been incorporated, turn the heat to high, and add the broccoli and shitake mix.
  7. Cook on high for about 3 minutes longer, just until everything has incorporated and coated every.  Top it with the chopped green onions, take it off the heat and mix.

Load this on top of some rice, garnish with green onions and enjoy every bit of this healthy stir fry.

