After a weekend of late night gluttony and binging, my body was desperately begging for a change!  I don’t think my body can handle the abuse and has been pounding me with aches and pains for awhile now.  I ignored it, believing that I was young and healthy, and unstoppable.  Which may be the case, but it won’t always be like that.

I committed to changing my diet.

No fast food.  No excessive drinking.  More exercising.  Healthier foods.  Simple enough, right?

I thought it would be very difficult to change my “See Food” diet, but after some browsing, I realized that some of my favorite home cooked meals were extremely healthy, good for me, and good for my tummy.

I was craving tofu, and immediately thought of my mom’s stuffed tofu simmered in a delicious tomato base.  I tweaked it a bit so that it was completely vegetarian.  Who said healthy food can’t be just as delicious as the fatty braised kind :9

set atop white rice and garnished with fresh cucumbers

Veggie Stuffed Tofu Braised with Tomatoes [Serves 6]

  • 6 long green onion pieces, cut in half lengthwise, you’ll use these to tie the tofu shut
  • 1/2 green onions, chopped
  • 2 packed cups of spinach, chopped
  • 1 cup cilantro
  • 1 cup of shitake mushrooms,  chopped
  • olive oil, just enough to coat pan
  • 3 – 14oz blocks of tofu, each block cut into 4 triangles, and centers removed and reserved
  • 1 shallot, diced
  • 4 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, or to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper, or to taste
  • 2 cups vegetable broth, or water

tofu stuffed with veggie, cilantro, and shitake mushrooms

  1. Put the long pieces of green onion in a microwaveable bowl of hot water, and heat in microwave for about 5 minutes, until it has wilted.  Set aside
  2. Heat your pan on medium high heat, drizzle some of the olive oil in it.
  3. Add chopped spinach, cilantro, and shitake mushrooms, saute for about 2 minutes, until the spinach has wilted.  Remove and reserve in a bowl.
  4. Gently brown the tofu pieces on all sides. Remove and let cool on a plate.
  5. Spoon the cooked spinach mixture into the tofu triangles.
  6. Tie the wilted pieces of green onions around the stuffed tofu to keep the filling in.
  7. In a wok, or deep saucepan, heat about 1 tablespoon olive oil on medium high.
  8. When the wok is hot, add the shallots, tomatoes, and cayenne pepper.  Mix it up and cook it for about 2-4 minutes, just enough for the tomatoes to break down and start stewing.
  9. Gently place your stuffed tofu into the tomato bath.  Add the 2 cups of vegetable broth, or water, to just cover the tofu.
  10. Cover and let it braise on low heat for about 30 minutes.
  11. When it’s ready, toss in the chopped green onions. Remove from heat.

stuffed tofu babies braising away in a bath of tomatoey goodness

Serve the stuffed tofu and tomato sauce over a nice bed of rice with freshly sliced cucumbers if you want and enjoy!

