I subscribe to a lot of cooking magazines.  Okay, so not a whole lot, maybe about 2 consistent ones, that have managed to take over my living room.  They’re arranged on my bookshelves, nesting on the coffee table, and spewing out of the additional storage ottoman I  got for Christmas.  Of these mountains of recipes, I’ve probably cooked 3 or 4 the past year.

I decided it’s time to be consistent.  So I sat in my living, flipping through magazines, instead of unpacking from Vegas, and stumbled upon Real Simple’s Chicken Adobo with Bok Choy.  FANTASTIC! I always feel like I have a hard time cooking chicken, but what can go wrong while you slow cook it?  Gave me a reason to bust out my new Hamilton Beach Stay or Go slow cooker.  Not to mention I thought about the chicken adobo my friends’ gramma used to make for us, and was feeling like I needed some in my belly.

Chicken Adobo over steamed rice w/ potatoes and bok choy

I adapted the recipe a bit to serve for my dinner swap.

  • 2 medium onions, sliced
  • 8 garlic cloves, smashed
  • 2  2/3 cups vinegar (recipe suggested apple cider, but i didn’t have any)
  • 1 1/3 cups low-sodium soy sauce
  • 4 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 bay leaves
  • black pepper
  • 6 quartered chicken bone-in (legs and thighs) (about 4 lbs)
  • 3 tablespoons paprika
  • 8 bunches of bok choy, cut into 1-inch pieces
  1. In a 5 to 6 quart slow cooker, combine the onions, garlic, vinegar, soy sauce, brown sugar, bay leaf, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper.  Place the chicken on top and sprinkler with paprikia.
  2. Cook, covered, until the chicken and onions are tender, on low for 7 to 8 hours, or on high for 4 to 5 hours.
  3. Twenty minutes before serving, if the cooker is on the low setting, turn it to high.  Gently fold the bok choy into the chicken and cook, covered, until tender, 3 to 5 minutes.

I like my chicken adobo very saucey, so that i can mix it into my steamed rice, so fyi, this yields a lot of sauce.  Get your bowl of steamed white rice ready, or garlic rice, and top with that oh-so-tender chicken adobo, don’t forget some sauce!  Garnish with some fresh herbs, like cilantro or chopped scallions.

*Note: the sauce comes out vinegary (which I like, but my bf is a little sensitive to), if you’re not big on vinegar, add a little more brown sugar, or cut back on the vinegar, just a littttle bit.

