Foil-wrapped chicken over rice w/bok choy

My cooker’s blocked ended with a savory dinner of foil-wrapped chicken.  My good friend, DRock, suggested that I make dim sum, when I was in need of suggestions of what to cook for dinner.  I anxiously browsed recipes for shrimp dumplings, pork dumplings, baked pork buns, chicken feet, the usual famous dim sum go-tos.  Then I stumbled across a picture of the deliciously hidden foil-wrapped chicken.  I haven’t eaten for several years at dim sum, and had almost forgotten about it.  I was giddy and excited about making this dish, since I always had so much fun unwrapping it over my steamed white rice when I was younger, all the juices running down my fingers as I enjoyed every last dropped.  Definitely finger-licking good!

  • 2 chicken breasts, cut into about 1 inch bite-sized pieces
  • 3 cloves garlic minced
  • 1 tablespoon garlic, minced
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1/3 cup hoison
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 2 dried chilies, chopped
  • sesame oil
  1. In a bowl, combine all ingredients together, mix, and drop the chunks of chicken breast in.  Marinate for about 2-3 hours, if you don’t have time, at least for 30 minutes.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  3. Cut about 16 –  6inch squares of foil.
  4. Place a heaping spoonful of chicken mix on the middle of the square foil.  Fold in half diagonally, and then fold each side over to seal the mixture.  Don’t forget to flip each corner, as well.
  5. Place filled triangles on a baking sheet, and bake for 25 minutes

little bundles of foil-wrapped chicken

When it’s all cooked and ready to go, serve immediately.  Open by piercing the middle with your fork and tearing it open over your bowl of rice, or if you’re a little daring, unfold the triangle with your fingers, but be careful not to burn your them.  Serve next to some prepared veggies, and garnish with a little cilantro.

Enjoy!

