I never knew how much I loved Korean food, until I started eating it.  I, also, never knew how much I loved saying Korean words until I started cooking it!

About 2 weeks ago I made kimchee from scratch (courtesy of Momofuku), so that I can make kimchee stew (also courtesy of Momofuku).  However the recipe yielded more kimchee than I would need for the stew, and more than I can eat by myself.  I told my friend about my massive amounts of kimchee that I would have leftover, and he suggested, kimchee fried rice… BOKUMBAP!  What a fantastic and easy idea!

Bokumbap!

Kimchee Fried Rice Recipe (serves 6)

  • 4 cups old cooked rice (cold)
  • 8 slices of bacon, cut into bite sized pieces
  • 5 eggs lightly beaten
  • 1 – 16oz can of peas
  • 1 – 16oz can of corn
  • 1 cup kimchi, roughly chopped
  • 2 tablespoons kimchi liquid from your jar of kimchi
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • oil
  1. Heat some oil in a wok over high heat. Add diced onions, cook until tender, but do not brown. Set onions aside in a bowl
  2. Add a some more oil if needed and lightly scramble the eggs, do not overcook. Set eggs aside with the onions
  3. Add the bacon and cook until crispy. Set aside with the onions and eggs.
  4. You can remove some of the bacon oil if you want.  Wait until the wok has heated through again, just before smoking and add the rice, stir occasionally until all there are no more clumps and the rice is heated, about five to eight minutes.
  5. Add the corn, peas, onions, eggs, and bacon and fry until all ingredients are mixed throughout the rice.
  6. Take wok off heat and add the chopped kimchee and kimchee liquid.
  7. Mix thoroughly and serve immediately.

I needed some more veggies in my life, so I just added some blanched bok choy to eat with it.

Don’t forget to wipe your chin! :9

