I love noodles and I love soup, so it only makes sense that I would love to eat ramen.  It’d also only make sense, if I made it according to the Momofuku recipe.  I had put off making ramen long enough!  The mass of ingredients intimidated me, but if I wanted to cook anything else in the Momofuku cookbook, I’d have to try my hand at the ramen broth.

Oh man, am I glad I did! It was plenty of hard work, but eventually after the hours of simmering and drawing flavors into the stock, one ingredient at a time, I finally had the ramen broth that I highly enjoyed! and that my friends said they enjoyed as well. 🙂

homemade Ramen!

Momofuku Ramen (prep for each serving)

  • 2 cups hot Ramen Broth
  • Tare or substitute with kosher salt, soy sauce, and mirin
  • 5 to 6 ounces fresh ramen noodles
  • 1/4 cup of the shredded chicken from the ramen broth
  • 1/4 cup pork shoulder for ramen
  • Two 3×3 inch sheets nori (cut from larger sheets)
  • 1/4 cup thinly sliced scallions (greens and whites)
  • 2 thin slices store-bought fish cake
  • 4 or 5 bamboo shoots (menma) (see below for recipe)
  • 1/4 cup seasonal vegetables
  • 1 slow poached eggs
  1. Boil the ramen noodles according to the package’s instructions.
  2. Top with hot broth
  3. Dress the soup: arrange the meat (shoulder and belly) and other garnishes (scallions, bamboo shoots, fish cake, vegetables) around the edges of each bowl.  If using the egg, put it right in the middle of the bowl.  Finish by tucking a couple pieces of nori about one-third of the way into one side of the soup, so they lean against the side of the bowl and stand up above the rim.  Serve hot.
  4. There is no wrong or right way to make a bowl of ramen, you can omit any extra dressing ingredients, or add them as you want.

Menma (enough for 6 bowls of ramen)

  • One 12-ounce can sliced bamboo shoots
  • Spashes of grapeseed oil and asian sesame oils
  • Splash of light soy sauce
  1. Drain the bamboo shoots in a colander and rinse them well under running water.
  2. Put them in a small saucepan with the oils, soy, and stew them over low heat for 20 – 30 minutes, stirring occasionally, until tender.
  3. Taste them, and season with salt if needed.  Set aside until ready to use, or refrigerate for 3 or 4 days’ reheat them before adding to soup
