I don’t know when or how it first started, but I find myself ALWAYS looking for a Caprese salad, or at least a version of it.  I dig the fresh mozzarella, tomato, basil combo topped off with some balsamic.  I just came back from an Ensenada Cruise with Royal Caribbean and enjoyed a delicious watermelon, mozzarella, tomato salad for dinner one night.  Then, when I got back to San Francisco and had dinner at HOME restaurant, I immediately gravitated towards their watermelon & heirloom tomato salad.  I can’t remember if it had mozzarella, but it was to die for!  So of course, on my first day back to cooking and I just had to have a watermelon, mozzarella, tomato salad to start of my dinner!

Watermelon, Mozzarella & Tomato Salad

Probably the easiest and most refreshing starter you can make.

Serves 4-6

  • 1lb fresh mozzarella
  • 3 Campari tomatoes or 1 large tomato
  • 2 cups chopped watermelon
  • spring salad mix
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • balsamic vinegar to taste
  1. slice the mozzarella and tomatoes into circles
  2. Place a handful of spring salad mix on the plate
  3. plate about 3-4 pieces of mozzarella on top of the salad mix, then place the watermelon chunks and tomatoes on top of the mozzarella
  4. sprinkle on some salt and pepper, and drizzle some balsamic vinegar
  5. ENJOY!
