Just a week ago I got ACL surgery, 10 years overdue, apparently, and I’ve been restrained to the 4 walls of my apartment, mostly.  The great part about being on a LOA from work is that I get to sit at home and help with the wedding/event planning for friends and read all the cookbooks, cooking blogs, and cooking websites I can get my hands on.

I can’t move that efficiently yet, but D, my 4day roommate, helped me with errands and grocery shopping and the cooking! She cooked me eggs and veggies with an english muffin for breakfast, and pasta with some parmesan, lemon, and olive oil for lunch.  I can’t remember what else we ate those next couple days, because my mind has been clouded with the aroma of Korean Braised Short Ribs.

We were thinking of pulling another recipe out of Momofuku, but what I wanted to make had hours of prep, so D found this recipe for Korean Braised Short Ribs instead.  D was head chef, I was sous chef.

  • ~3lbs short ribs (cut about 2inch thick, English cut, for braising)
  • 1.5 cups soy sauce
  • 1.5 cups water
  • 1 can of 7-up (or just more sugar and water)
  • 1/4 of an Asian Pear, pureed
  • 5Tbsp of sugar (or more to taste)
  • 3Tbsp minced garlic
  • 1Tsp pepper
  • 1Tbsp sesame oil
  • 2-3 potatoes, chunked for stewing
  • 1 large carrot, chunked for stewing
  • 1/4 of an onion, thickly sliced
  1. Make about 3 -4 slices above the bone of each beef chuck.  See photo below.

    slice above the bone -picture from Korean Cuisine

  2. After cutting the meat, soak in a container of cool water for about 1 hour, to drain the blood out

    seeping short ribs to drain blood

  3. In a pot (I like to use my dutch oven) mix the soy sauce, water, 7up, pureed Asian pear, sugar, minced garlic, black pepper, and sesame oil
  4. Place the meat in the pot so that they’re all cover.  Bring to a boil, once it has boiled, bring it to a medium-low, cover, and simmer it for one hour

    at 1 hour of braising

  5. Prepare your vegetables, potatoes, carrots, onions.  You can use other type of stew vegetables, up to you 🙂

    carrot for braising. I have potatoes and onions, but forgot to take a picture

  6. After the meat has been braising for about an hour, add the vegetables and cook for about another 30-40 minutes

    braised short ribs and veggies!

  7. Check the meat and vegetables for tenderness, plate, and serve.  I like eating mine with some rice. :9

It was quite the delicious late night dinner and next day lunch for me, D, and my BF who had just got back from NY.

