Tags

, , , ,

After graduating college I went into a career I never thought I would, and I’ve stayed with it for the past 3 years, because it’s worked for me.  The environment is great, the associates are great, and the clients are great, but I still feel like I’m missing something.

After my ‘9-6’ shift, I find myself at home not completely satisfied with my day, not until I start designing and making something out of nothing.  It’s highly satisfying to take tidbits of metal, crystals, semi-precious stones, pearls, silk thread and turning it into a versatile and wearable good.  I love creating and wearing my own jewelry and accessories, but the best part of it is when other people enjoy wearing the accessories, too.

I’m always excited when I see my one-of-a-kind designs gracefully walking down the aisle or dancing the night away.

Why can’t something so enjoyable make me happy… and financially stable?

I enjoy my current job, but I don’t love it.  I’m glad I have a friend who shares the same interest in me, where we can work on this project together.

There’s quiet a bit of planning that goes into starting your own business, and the biggest lesson I’ve learned is that I won’t get anything done unless I set goals.

  1. come up with the objective/purpose
  2. logos/branding
  3. names/branding
  4. color schemes/branding
  5. business cards
  6. buy a domain name
  7. packaging/branding
  8. create website
  9. create/design products
  10. launch the line
  11. launch the website
  12. breathe

So far that is what is on my to-do list, and I am going  to set a goal of 4 months to complete it.  I’ll probably add more goals as we go along, but I think this is quiet a bit on our plate.  If I’ve forgotten anything in the process, please remind me! We’ll need all the help we can get!

"Dahye" - inspired by a wonderful, strong, and bold woman

No one says it will be easy, and of course there will be long hours, but at least they will be long hours of me enjoying what I do.

