I always love Costco coupons.  One morning while flipping through the  coupon book before my trip to Costco, I saw the discount for 2 large can of clams, and I just had to have it!!  Have I ever cooked with clams? not really, but I did have a craving for clam chowder.  The first can went to clam chowder, but I had no idea what to do with the second.  Then one day my friend kept mentioning that he would make linguine and clams, but he never did! So after a month of hearing about it, I finally rifled through my cupboards to see how I was going to make this, and was determined to make this!

mm mm mmmmm

Ingredients – Got the skeleton of my recipe courtesy of Emeril Lagasse

1/2 pound linguine or spaghetti – I DIDN’T HAVE ANY!!! so I substituted for..

1/2 pound medium pasta shells – check! 😀

1 tablespoon olive oil – check

1/4 cup finely chopped yellow onions – check

1-1/2 tablespoons thinkly sliced garlic – check

1 teaspoon chopped fresh oregano – check

1/4 teaspoon salt – check

1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (or as desired) – check

3/4 cups canned clams (or as desired) – check

1/2 cup dry white wine (I used chardonnay) – check

1/4 cup clam juice – check

1/4 cup heavy cream – check

1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice – check

1/2 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil – check

1/4 cup finely chopped fresh parsley leaves – check

1/4 cup finely grated Parmesan – check

Directions

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add the linguine and cook until al dente, 8 to 9 minutes. Drain the pasta in a colander, reserving 1/4 cup of the cooking liquid. Return the pasta to the pot and toss with the cooking liquid. Cover and set aside.

In a large, heavy saute pan or medium pot, heat the oil over medium heat. Add the onions and cook, stirring, until soft, 3 minutes. Add the garlic, oregano, salt, and red pepper flakes, and cook, stirring, for 1 minute. Add the wine and clam juice and cook for 1 minute. Add the clams, cover, and cook about 5 minutes. Add the cream and lemon juice, stir well, and simmer for 1 minute. Add the cooked pasta and toss to coat. Add the extra-virgin olive oil and parsley, and toss to coat. Divide among serving bowls and top each portion with cheese. Serve immediately.

I enjoyed my version of linguine and clams immensely, and I hope that you do, too!! 😀

DIG IN!

