I feel like I’ve been running on this treadmill for six months trying to get financially fit and I don’t see any improvement at all.  I can live comfortably, but is it really comfortable if I’m not saving as much as I would like?

I’ve turned to cooking at home more often and eating out less; transferring jobs so that I’ll have a shorter commute; cutting down the excessive shopping and resisting the urge of impulse shopping (though, that didn’t work so well this month); all in all, I’ve gone through every little expenditure with the help of Mint.com to see where I’m spending too much and if I could possible cut back and do without those gourmet cheeses and delicious wine.  It’s tough and frustrating.  I’ve cut back, what I think, a remarkable amount, but I feel that I can still save more.  I’ll have to do without some luxuries, but it’s so hard to let them go.

“If you will live like no one else, later you can live like no one else.” -Dave Ramsey, author of The Total Money Makeover

Can I really cut back on more things that I already have?  I guess I’ll be visiting my niece a little more often and having her supply me with any excess juice and cereal that she gets.

I know it’s doable.  I just have to keep up the self-control to stop shopping.  Stop buying unnecessary luxuries: blouses, jewelry, shoes, purses, etc.

I have to look to the bigger goal: Having an emergency savings; saving for that vacation trip; saving so that I can take 6 months off work and travel; saving for a financially secure retirement.

I CAN do this! and I WILL do this.

