Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Sushi Koo

Has a meal ever made me coo with delight?  Perhaps, but none stands out in my mind more than Koo.I loved walking in and seeing simply dark, and sleek wooden tables.  The settings caught my eye with a mellow yellow napkin that popped against the dark wood.  Our waitress was great, she was always there when we needed her, and never there when we didn’t.  It made for an enjoyable experience where we could enjoy our food, and did not have our conversations interrupted.
Upon Yelper’s suggestions, I ordered the Spoonful of Happiness, and oh boy it definitely was!  You get two spoonfuls and a shot of sake in the set.  One is ankimo wrapped in hamachi with white truffle oil ponzu.  Take a shot of sake after the first one to cleanse the palette if you wish.  The second spoonful is uni, quail egg, and tobiko ponzu.  Both spoonfuls were delicious, but my favorite was the uni, quail egg, and tobiko ponzu, absolutely creamy and delicious!

Spoonful of Happiness - a spoonful of uni, quail egg, tobiko ponzu & a spoonful of ankimo wrapped with whitefish, white truffle-oil ponzu & a shot of chilled sake

I also had a fresh order of the shashimi combo, which included about 4 selections of their freshest fish, and an order of unagi ngiri.

Sashimi Combo - Maguro, Hamachi, Salmon & White-fish

Dragon Roll & Unagi Ngiri

Needless to say, I left so satisfyingly happy.  Must’ve been that spoonful of happiness.  I hear there’s a Happy Hour hear I should check out, too.  If you’re ever in the area, stop by and try a spoonful of happiness for yourself.

Thanks for stopping by!

Sushi Koo
(415) 731-7077
408 Irving street
San Francisco, CA 94122

